FICCI announces the Winners of India Sports Awards for 2014

New Delhi: India’s top archer Deepika Kumari was today named the Sportsperson of the Year at the India Sports Awards, presented by FICCI. Former India captain Rahul Dravid was conferred with the Lifetime Achievement award.

After being one of the medal contenders at the 2012 London Olympics, where she failed to impress, Deepika came back strongly in July 2013 to win the gold medal in stage 3 of the Archery World Cup at Medellin, Colombia.

She also went on to bag the silver medal at the 2013 FITA Archery World Cup in September 2013, her third silver in as many appearances in the World Cup.

P.V sindhu, bronze medallist at the badminton World Championships, was named the Breakthrough Sportsperson of the Year, while cricketer Yuvraj Singh, who overcame his battle with cancer, was named the Most Inspiring Sportsperson of the Year.

Devendra Jhajharia, who won the gold medal at the 2004 Athens Olympics, was named the para-sportsperson of the year.

The team of the year award went to the Indian women’s archery team.

All India Football Federation (AIFF) received the Best National Sports Federation Award while Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) was given the Best Company Promoting Sports award.

Among other awardees were Rani Rampal (Comeback of the Year award) and Baldev Singh (coach or support staff category).