February 10th: Trust, Power, and Politics – Bihar Vote of Confidence Holds Key

Patna, Bihar: Nitish Kumar’s newly formed NDA government in Bihar will face a crucial test on February 10th as it seeks a vote of confidence in the state assembly. The vote comes after Kumar’s dramatic political shift, where he broke ties with the opposition Mahagathbandhan and joined hands with the BJP to form a new government.

The NDA holds a narrow majority in the 243-member assembly, with 127 MLAs supporting the alliance. This includes 45 MLAs from Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)), 81 MLAs from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally Hindustan Awam Morcha (Secular) (HAM(S)), and the support of one Independent MLA.

JD(U) alone falls short of a majority, but the combined strength of the NDA gives them a comfortable buffer of five seats over the 122 needed for majority rule.

Meanwhile, the opposition Mahagathbandhan, composed of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the Congress party, and Left parties, holds 114 seats, falling eight short of the magic number.

The trust vote will be a key indicator of the stability of Kumar’s new government and will be closely watched by both national and state political circles. While the NDA’s narrow majority suggests a potentially close vote, Kumar’s political acumen and the lure of ministerial positions could sway some undecided MLAs.

The February 10th vote will not only determine the fate of Kumar’s government but also set the stage for the upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha elections, where Bihar plays a crucial role with its 40 parliamentary seats.