Sonia Gandhi wins Rae Bareli Seat by 3.5 lakh votes 

Rae Bareli (Uttar Pradesh): Congress president Sonia Gandhi won from Rae Bareli constituency, even as her party was decimated across Uttar Pradesh.

According to election officials, Sonia Gandhi won from Rae Bareli, defeating Ajay Agrawal of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by 352,713 votes.

The only other Congress candidate leading in the state was its vice president Rahul Gandhi in Amethi.

Sonia Gandhi was first elected from Rae Bareli in 2004 and again in 2009. She was earlier the MP from Amethi.