EU bans Import from Crimea and Sevastopol from June 25

Brussels: The Council of European Union (EU) Monday decided to refuse the goods originating in Crimea or Sevastopol into its member states, said a statement published after the meeting of 28 EU foreign ministers in Luxembourg.

“From 25 June, goods originating in Crimea and Sevastopol may no more be imported into the European Union,” said the statement, adding that financial and insurance services related to the import of such goods will also be banned, Xinhua reported.

However, goods originating in Crimea or Sevastopol, which have been granted a certificate of origin by the Ukrainian authorities, may still be imported.

The council’s decision is part of the EU’s non-recognition policy regarding the “illegal annexation” of Crimea.

On March 18, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a treaty to integrate Crimea and its city of Sevastopol into Russia, following a referendum which found that a large majority of Crimeans supported the affiliation.