List of National Bravery Awards 2013 Winners

National Bravery Awards 2013 were presented to 22 Children yesterday by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh. These 22 Bravehearts risked their lives to save others and some of them lost their lives too. The Awards were first instituted by Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru in 1958. These are a series of Five awards given to children aged between 6 and 18 years of age viz. Bharat Award, Sanjay Chopra Award, Geeta Chopra Award, Bapu Gayadhani Award,  and National Bravery Award. Till Date 844 children have been conferred with this Award.

Below are the list of Awardees in each category of the awards.

National Bravery Awards

Ramdinthara (Mizoram)
Devansh Tiwari (Chhattisgarh)
Mukesh Nishad (Chhattisgarh)
Lalrinhlua (Mizoram)
E. Suganthan (Tamil Nadu)
Ramith.K, (Kerala)
Mebin Cyriac (Kerala)
Vishnu MV (Kerala)
Koroungamba Kuman (Manipur)
Sameep Anil Pandit (Maharashtra)
Viswendra Lohkna (Uttar Pradesh)
Satendra Lohkana (Uttar Pradesh)
Pawan Kumar Kanaujiya (Uttar Pradesh)
Stripleaseman Mylliem (Meghalaya)
Sapna Kumari Meena (Rajasthan)
Suhail KM (Karnataka)


Bapu Gaidhani Award

Vijay Kumar Sainik (Uttar Pradesh)
Akanksha Gaute (Chhattisgarh)
Hali Raghunath Baraf (Maharashtra)


Sanjay Chopra Award

Gajendra Ram  from Chhattisgarh


Geeta Chopra Award

Renu  from New Delhi


Bharat Award

Tarang Atulbhai Mistry from Gujarat


About National Bravery Awards

These Awards have a very interesting History. On 2 October 1957, India’s first Prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru, was watching a performance at Delhi’s Ramlila ground, at the Red Fort, and a fire broke out in a shamiana) through a short circuit.

A 14 Year Kid named Harish Chandra,  took out his knife, and ripped open the burning tent, saving lives of hundreds of trapped people; this incident inspired Pt. Nehru initiate the awards, he asked the authorities to constitute an award to honour brave children from all over the country. Harish was the First ever Recipient of the Award. Subsequently several others awards were added to the list.

These are usually given  2-3 days before the Republic Day every Year.