In 2013 Maggi had confirmed that 2-Minutes Noodles had no MSG Contents

The debate over whether Maggi’s 2-Minutes Noodles contains harmful chemicals like MSG and Lead beyond permissible limits, has grown intensive with many people calling a ban on the sale of Maggi 2-Minutes Noodles. While Food and Drug Regulators in Lucknow confirm to have found traces of MSG and Lead in Maggi’s Instant Noodles, Nestle has refuted these allegations as baseless.

Maggi's Instant Noodles are widely consumed in India and is a food of choice for millions

Maggi’s Instant Noodles are widely consumed in India and is dubbed as  the Food of  Choice  of India

While searching for more information on this issue, we discovered that a user named Ayesha Masarrath had raised this issue on Maggi’s Official Facebook Page, 2 years ago.

In this Facebook post dating March 6, 2013 Ayesha had on Meri Maggi, its official verified Facebook Page, whether the instant noodles contained MSG. She was however concerned about MSG being a non-vegetarian substance, rather than its effects on human health.

“When i googled and went through an article on Wikipedia to my surprise this is what i found: Maggi 2-minute noodles in India contains hydrolysed groundnut protein, It contains MSG (Monosodium glutamate) used as a flavor enhancer, which is made using Bactosoytone, itself made from soy protein using a catalyst enzyme porcine (taken from intestine of Pig)”, she wrote on the Facebook Timeline of Maggi.

The question attracted widespread audience and the officials of Maggie chose to respond to it. They confirmed that it does not contain any non-vegetarian substance and it did not contain Monosodium Glucamate (MSG).

In their response, they wrote “Hi Ayesha, we assure you that there is no pig meat extracts in our MAGGI range of products. All variants of MAGGI 2-Minute Noodles (except the chicken variant) are 100% vegetarian. You will observe that the ingredients are listed on the pack. In addition, all vegetarian products from MAGGI brand carry “green dot” symbol. In case the products contain any non-vegetarian item i.e. chicken variant, it would be listed on the pack and the pack would carry brown dot symbol. Our current range of noodles do not contain monosodium glutamate. Further, all the ingredients used in our Maggi noodles are vegetarian and are not haram. You can continue enjoying your favorite MAGGI Noodles with absolute confidence”

In a followup comment, one user named Mohammed Ishaq Mohiuddin asserted that its the flavoring powder that has the Monosodium gluconate not the noodles. He said that he had checked it himself on the ingredients the MSG is present in the masala powder. However, this was left unanswered by Maggi/Nestle officials.

The question remains answered amid contradictory claims made by many people and Maggi/Nestle officials. Only upon extensive investigation and probe, this confusion can be aired away.